JTA vs resource-local performance

A few years ago I did a simple test to compare how JTA handling (via UserTransaction) compares to resource local transaction handling. Back then using JTA had a rather big impact on the performance. Time to repeat this test with a modern EE server.

So I went on and created a very simple JPA sample which does a loop and creates 1000 Customer entries in a simple h2 memdb. I did choose h2 memdb because it’s pretty fast. At least much faster than any production ready DB which stores the stuff on a disk. In the end we like to know the performance of JTA and not bench the database.

My simple sample can be downloaded at https://github.com/struberg/jtabench
To start it just run
$> mvn clean install tomee:run

So far my tests don’t show a huge problem.

When I run the benchmark against the resource-local part (http://localhost:8080/jtabench/customer/nonjta) I get
Resource-Local: 21.6 pages/second.
That means 21600 inserts per second.

If I do the very same benchmark against the JTA part (http://localhost:8080/jtabench/customer/jta) I get about
JTA: 19.0 pages/second.
And please remember that h2 memdb is really fast! Thus with a real database load the difference will simply be negligible.

If you reproduce the test yourself locally then don’t forget to clean the databases inbetween benchmark runs with http://localhost:8080/jtabench/customer/reset . This will delete all temporarily created Customer entries in the dbs.

Note: I’m not quite sure how much optimization geronimo-tx applies if there is only a single DataSource involved. Need to dig that myself. Probably will provide a follow up test with 2++ different databases…

About struberg
I'm an Apache Software Foundation member blogging about Java, µC, TheASF, OpenWebBeans, Maven, MyFaces, CODI, GIT, OpenJPA, TomEE, DeltaSpike, ...

One Response to JTA vs resource-local performance

  1. Luis Carlos says:

    I did a similar test but using EclipseLink and Oracle DB, and the results were that using “LOCAL_DATASOURCE” is cleary more efficient than using “JTA”, I test using a local database and a remote database too, of course the results with a remote database were lightly worse but the same result, better “LOCAL_DATASOURCE” than “JTA”. I read that is not good using “LOCAL_DATASOURCE” in production server, but I don’t know how much is that afirmation correct. Hope this help

Leave a Reply

